Salmon Fish Cakes

title

It’s been a while since I blogged a new recipe…what can I say?  Life’s been busy, I’ve barely been cooking for my own family let alone for a blog 😃  But my life has changed dramatically in the past month and I’m finding a whole lot more spare time which means I’ve been able to get reacquainted with my love of cooking.

I’ve been craving fish cakes…strange I know, but it’s true.  So I went looking for a decent recipe to jump off from.  All of the recipes I found contained potato and being a Type II diabetic means that I tend to avoid potatoes due to their high GI factor.  I considered trying to modify a recipe so that it didn’t have potato in it, but then I remembered reading about a low GI potato.

The Carisma Potato is available from Coles Supermarkets in Australia and has a glycemic index of 53 which is similar to pasta, quinoa and porridge and is a much better choice than a regular potato (which has a glycemic index of 77).  So I decided to give them a go.

If you don’t have access to Carisma potatoes, you can substitute for regular potatoes.

Salmon Fishcakes

salmon-fishcakes-title

Ingredients

415g canned salmon
500gm potato, peeled and quartered
50gm Danish feta
1 cup frozen peas
2 tbls chopped fresh chives
2 tbls chopped fresh parsley
1 tbls chopped fresh dill
Zest and juice of 1 lemon
Salt & pepper
2 eggs, beaten
Panko bread crumbs
Sunflower Oil for frying

Herbed Cream

1/2 cup sour cream
2 tbls Aioli
1 tbls chopped fresh chives
1 tbls chopped fresh parsley
1/2 tbls chopped fresh dill

Method

1. Boil potatoes in salted water until tender.  Drain and allow to cool.
2. Drain salmon and pour into a large bowl.  Using a fork, flake salmon to remove lumps.
3. Add herbs, zest, juice, peas and feta.  Season with salt and pepper and stir well to combine, ensuring feta is distributed evenly.

salmon-mix

4. Mash cooled potatoes and add to salmon mix, combining well.
5. Form handfuls of mixture into patties and place on a tray.  Cover and refrigerate 15 mins.

balls

6. Dip patties in beaten egg and then coat with breadcrumbs.  Refrigerate 15 mins or until ready to cook.

patties

7. Heat oil in a frypan and cook patties until golden brown, turning once.
8. Serve with fresh salad and herbed cream.

Herbed Cream

1. Combine all ingredients and refrigerate until required.

*Also posted on Freshbaked

Leave a Reply

