Building a Dream

31 Days of Blogging – Day 18

dreams

 

I feel so bad…I didn’t blog yesterday.  The day just seemed to get away from me and then by the time I remembered, I was already in bed and far too tired to do anything about it!  So I am going to blog twice today to make up for it.

I sometimes feel that I am being spied on and although I have a very active imagination, this is not a paranoia thing.  It is actually like someone can read my mind or overhear my conversations. I am really getting sick of it.

I have always said that I am an ideas person…I am always coming up with ideas for new things to do.  My dad was the same.  I remember as a kid having a discussion with him about how to go about making an airbed out of the bladders used for cask wine.  He had it all worked out, the only drawback was the noise.  Anyway, that is a bit off track.  My problem is not with coming up with the ideas, just ask my husband, I am always chewing off his ear with an ideas.  No the problem I have is making them a reality.

When I get an idea, the finished product is very clear, what isn’t clear are the steps to bring it to fruition.  I can get quite obsessed about something, like this time I came up with an idea for an iphone app.  I created a working excel spreadsheet (that I use all the time for work) that I want to make into an app so that it is at my fingertips, but the whole process of creating an app eludes me.  I have googled it, but haven’t found much to help me and to pay to have it made is really expensive…so how do I make it happen?  I don’t know and so it sits on the backburner.

But again, I am off track.  What has this got to do with thinking that I am being spied on?  Well, it’s like this…I come up with an idea for a new menu item at work and before I know it, I see an ad on TV and they have stolen my idea.  Don’t laugh, this has happened to me too numerous times to think of it as coincidence.  And there are other things too, like my idea for the Big Pineapple.

The Big Pineapple is a local tourist attraction that went into receivership and subsequently closed.  It sat unused and unloved for a really long time, the site for sale.  I had a stroke of genius to reopen it as a local market.  Here is my idea that I wrote down so I could prove it was my idea first – The Future of the Big Pineapple. Unfortunately, I didn’t have the money to make this a reality but someone else did.  The Big Pineapple is now a market…not quite the way I imagined it, but none the less, someone made my dream a reality before I could.  I am really over this happening to me.

Last night, it happened again.  Gav & I have been cultivating a boutique range of cold brew coffee.  As you can see in previous posts, we make it and bottle it ourselves and then sell it in our shops.  We have been looking at ways to expand and were thinking of doing a market stall.  Last night I received a text from a friend showing me someone who has just started selling cold brew at the markets.  ARGH!  That was my idea and someone stole it!

So, you tell me, am I being spied on and my secrets being sold to the highest bidder?  I just want to know, when will it be my turn to build my dream?  I have some really brilliant ideas, but due to lack of funds/knowledge/time I never get to make them a reality…I really want to make them a reality.  I really need an investor, someone who has the things I lack to make my dreams come true.  Anybody out there willing to invest in a middle aged mother who is just trying to have a go?

Leave a Reply

