Don’t Forget the Why

31 Days of Blogging – Day 16

love-letter

Today I spent about nine hours trying to rebuild one of my websites…it was very disheartening.  While I was searching through files, I came across the above quote and it made me stop.  I have been feeling very overwhelmed lately by all the “behind the scenes” aspects of our businesses and had forgotten why I was doing what I was doing.  This quote made me think about the reasons I wanted to own my own business and the reasons that I get up at 3am to bake cakes and make cold brew.  I had lost sight of the why.

Knowing the why doesn’t relieve the workload, but it does make it feel like it’s not for nothing.  My day today felt like a complete waste of time…I am not all that much closer to having my website back up than I was this time yesterday, but reading through these points gives me the motivation to keep going.

One of the reasons I wanted to own a business was that I wanted to be able help people.  Owning a cafe may not seem like a very good way to help people but it does.  We are in a position to employ people, give young people an opportunity to learn a new skill and an income while they’re at university.  We have a tip jar in each cafe that supports a sponsor child (for each cafe) and I like to think that we can bring a smile to our customers day.  We also dispense a legal drug (caffeine)  which helps to make peoples days better.  But I want to do more.

Worldbuilders is an organisation set up by one of my favourite authors, Patrick Rothfuss.  This is an example of what I would like to achieve with my businesses…we are not there yet and I’m not really sure how to get where I want to go, but today has reminded me of why I do what I do

 

Leave a Reply

