Computer says no

31 Days of Blogging – Day 15

IT

 

Living in the age we do, we have all experienced computer issues.  I used to work on an IT Help desk, so I have dealt with a lot of problems in the past (some user error, some not) and I have also had my own issues (insert here 3 months of no internet due to an ISP error and countless calls to an off-shore call centre).  We rely so heavily on the technology that it can be so frustrating when it doesn’t work…well have I got a doozy for you!

I found out yesterday that the server where three of my business websites and another website that I had a hand in building are hosted had a major data failure and everything was lost…e.v.e.r.y.t.h.i.n.g.  This means that currently my websites are blank pages and I am now going to have to rebuild them…from scratch.

You are probably thinking that I have all the files saved, why can’t I just reload them?  Well, the easy answer is, it is not that easy.  I use a platform called Dot Net Nuke, the latest version of this platform is 7 (which is what my host will be installing) but all my files are from version 5 & 6 so they are not compatible.  There is hours and hours and hours of work involved and “ain’t nobody got time for that”.

I am not really angry…these things happen.  My hosting provider is being very helpful and is very apologetic.  I think the scope of the work involved has me a bit floored, but hey, it’s a good opportunity to update my sites.

So, that’s my day.  Probably not very exciting, but I needed to tell someone 🙂

 

One thought on “Computer says no

  1. Oh dear. Technology can be SO frustrating when it’s supposed to save you time but actually takes more time. Hope it all comes together well.

Leave a Reply

