I Like Big Books…

31 Days of Blogging – Day 6

Today marked the first day of my holidays.  It has been a long, hard year so Gavin & I were both hanging out for some time off.  It is only five days, but it is FIVE DAYS IN A ROW!

I got up early and cleaned the house.  I had been lying in bed thinking about it and I couldn’t get back to sleep, so I got up and cleaned while everyone else slept.  At 7:30am I went back to bed…with a book.

books

I love books.  I adore books.  I love the smell of books, the feel of them, the sound of them, everything about them.  I love the physical, tactile, tangible book – regardless of it’s content.  But I also love reading, I love to immerse myself in the world created between the pages.  I am a prolific reader.  I have already read two books this year.  I have to admit though, that I don’t just read anything.  A book needs to captivate me, entertain me, enthrall me.  I don’t see the point of reading a book that is a chore.  Reading for me is escapism.  I read to get away from life, to live a life I would not normally have the opportunity to live.

In the past I have not been known to re-read books, but lately I have been.  It started because I was in between books and didn’t know what I wanted to read next.  Then I read two books to refresh my memory in preparation for the third in the series.  Then I watched a movie that had been made from a book and it made me want to re-read the book again (mainly because I wanted to see how different the book was) and that book was the first in a series, so of course, I had to read the rest.

Today I finished reading the third in the series.  The story wrapped up nicely, but there is a fourth book.  I remember when I read it last time that I felt that the fourth book was superfluous.  The story finishes nicely at the end of the third book.  All the loose ends were tied up nicely, the plot and all the subplots were resolved and I am left with a sense of closure.  I know I didn’t really enjoy the fourth book last time, but my OCD won’t let me not read it!  So, tonight I start the fourth book…

reading

Reading is so very important to me.  I went through a time when I didn’t read and I think my character suffered for it.  I feel sorry for people who don’t read, they are missing out.  Everybody should take some time to read.

One thought on “I Like Big Books…

  1. Pingback: It’s not an obsession… | My Whymsical Life

Leave a Reply

