Out of my Comfort Zone

31 Days of Blogging – Day 5

Today was a challenge for me. It was a work day, Sunday’s mostly are , but what made it challenging is that I didn’t start work until 11am.  Now, you may think that this is a good thing, but for me, this is hard, it is out of my comfort zone.

I am a morning person.  I am un-apologetically a morning person.  If I have a choice of doing something at 9pm or getting up at 3am to do it, guess which one I am going to choose?  Yep, I would rather get up at 3am.  I have always been like this.  I remember going to slumber parties and being the first one to fall asleep and the first one to wake up.  It was really awkward.  But I have embraced my early bird-ness and try to make the most of it.  Nothing good happens after 8:30 at night anyway 🙂

So, knowing this about me, you can understand that I almost always do early shifts at work and have done for the last four years.  I have my routine down pat.  I know where I need to be and what I need to do and can do it without thinking.  It comes automatically to me and my mornings run smoothly baring a major crisis.  Everybody’s happy.  And then Gavin had a brilliant idea…

challengeOur morning business is booming.  We have worked hard to build our reputation and our morning customers, but our afternoons have been plateauing.  We have tried a few things to build the afternoon trade, but it is still lackluster.  Our staff don’t feel the same about the afternoon trade as we do and tend to want to close early all the time so Gavin decided (actually we both agreed) that maybe we should do some afternoons and then we could stay open as long as we wanted to to try and build the business.  Today was our first day.

You may not understand why this is such a challenge for me.  Firstly, my body clock is very persistent and I don’t do well in the afternoons, secondly,  it is out of my comfort zone.  When I got to work this morning (at 11am!)  I didn’t know where to start; I didn’t know my place or my role.  It is a very different experience walking into a shift where all the jobs you normally do are already done.  It took a while for me to orientate myself and find my groove. And to add to the already awkward state of affairs, it was hot!

As I’ve stated in previous blogs, I am always looking for ways to improve myself and, after discussing the plan with Gavin, I decided to look at this as an opportunity.  I often require my staff to work hours that they may struggle with.  Even though I am a morning person, I know not all of my staff are, and yet I require them to start early, I require them to change their body clocks.  This was an opportunity for me to change.

It took me a while to find my groove, but I got there in the end and actually enjoyed the sfternoon…I did miss out on a swim though (that’s something I will need to work on in the future)

Leave a Reply

