NANOWRIMO has Begun!

 

Image

So November has rolled around again and that means it is time to overcome all those objections and start writing that novel you have always talked about!

“National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) is a fun, seat-of-your-pants approach to creative writing. On November 1, participants begin working towards the goal of writing a 50,000-word novel by 11:59 p.m. on November 30. Valuing enthusiasm, determination, and a deadline, NaNoWriMo is for anyone who has ever thought fleetingly about writing a novel.”

It’s probably no secret that I have always wanted to write.  I love words and what you can do with them.  I love reading and what it can do for you.  I would love to one day write a novel that makes a difference in someone else’s life the way so many books have made a difference in mine.  NaNoWriMo gives me the kick in the pants I need to at least start.

Last year was my first year with NaNoWriMo and I did finish the 50,000 words but just missed the deadline by 2 mins.  I’m not going to lie, it was tough.  Some days were easier than others, the words just flowed and my story progressed.  Other days I struggled to get any decent ideas out of my head.  A lot of the time I was stuck for words or procrastinated by doing “research” on the internet, but eventually I got there.  Did I finish a novel?  No, it wasn’t even part one of the epic story I had planned.  Was it worth it? Most definitely.  What did I learn?  I may not be able to make a living out of it, but I love trying to.

This year I have decided to write something a little simpler.  Last year’s attempt was an epic tale of magic and mystery set in an all new world.  This year I’ve aimed a little lower with a chick-lit mystery/thriller.  Hopefully I will be able to complete my novel or there-abouts) by November 30.

Speaking of which, I should be writing my novel instead of writing about writing my novel…

My Count thus Far

Leave a Reply

